Bukidnon 4th District gets Senate nod

Bukidnon News, Controversial, Government, Politics, Province of Bukidnon, Society

The Senate has approved the bill seeking the creation of a 4th District in Bukidnon. On September 20, 2012, the Senate has approved on the 3rd and final reading House Bill 5236 which seeks the creation of Bukidnon 4th District.

According to a press release from the Philippine Senate, 12 senators backed the passage of the Bukidnon 4th District bill.

President Noynoy Aquino still needs to sign the bill first in order for it to become a law.

With the creation of Bukidnon 4th District, there will also be a need for an additional congressman.

bukidnon map

Senator Ferdinand Marcos Jr., chairperson of the committee on local government, said that there was a need to create the Bukidnon Fourth District because “the provincial population has grown steadily over the years.”

Marcos cited data from the 2010 National Statistics Office (NSO), which pegged Bukidnon’s population at 1,299,192.

The proposed Bukidnon 4th District shall be composed of Valencia City, Kalilangan, and Pangantucan.

Bukidnon 1st District will then be composed of the municipalities of Baungon, Libona, Malitbog, Manolo Fortich, Sumilao, and Talakag.

Bukidnon 2nd District will be composed of Malaybalay City, Impasugong, Cabanglasan, Lantapan, and San Fernando while the third district shall be constituted of Kadingilan, Damulog, Dangcagan, Don Carlos, Maramag, Kibawe, Kitaotao, and Quezon.

Facebook Comments



Leave a Reply