Bukidnon congressman Manuel Zubiri votes NO for CHR 1,000 budget

Bukidnon News, Bukidnon Updates, Politics

Bukidnon Third District Congressman Manuel Zubiri was one of the only 32 who voted “nay” or “no” during the deliberation to endorse a Php 1,000 budget for the Commission on Human Rights.

On Tuesday, the House of Representatives voted 119 – 32, approving the vote to only give the CHR Php 1,000 (roughly $20 US). As a result, the matter will now be sent to the bicameral committee whereby they will be joined by Senators.

The vote was done via viva voce, meaning the “louder vote” won.

Zubiri, a neophyte congressman, received praises for his vote.

manuel zubiri

The measly budget for the CHR stemmed from a motion of 1-Sagip partylist representative Rodante Marcoleta where he claimed that the CHR “failed to act on violations committed by extremist groups such as the Abu Sayyaf and the Maute group.”

The other congressmen who voted against giving the CHR that kind of budget include:

Gary Alejano (Magdalo partylist)
Lito Atienza (Buhay partylist)
Kaka Bag-ao (Dinagat Island)
Jorge Banal (Quezon City)
Kit Belmonte (Quezon City)
Emmanuel Billones (Capiz)
Gabriel Bordado (Camarines Sur)
Arlene Brosas (Gabriela partylist)
Wilfredo Caminero (Cebu)
Ariel Casilao (Anakpawis partylist)
France Castro (Gabriela partylist)
Raul Daza (Northern Samar)
Emmi De Jesus (Gabriela)
Raul Del Mar (Cebu)
Sarah Jane Elago (Kabataan partylist)
Bayani Fernando (Marikina)
Lawrence Fortun (Agusan del Norte)
Mark Go (Baguio City)
Edcel Lagman (Albay)
Jocelyn Limkaichong (Negros Oriental)
Evelyn Mellana (Agusan del Sur)
Rosenda Ann Ocampo (Manila)
Aileen Radaza (Lapu-lapu City)
Ramon Rocamora (Siquijor)
Bai Sandra Sema (Maguindanao/Cotabato City)
Antonio Tinio(Act Teachers)
Tom Villarin (Akbayan partylist)
Rosanna Vergara (Nueva Ecija)
Carlos Zarate (Bayan Muna partylist)

Facebook Comments


Leave a Reply